Further Education – Education Ireland MY

Further Education

The term ” Further Education” embraces education and training which occurs after second-level schooling but which is not part of the third level system. Post Leaving Certificate courses (PLCs) are run by a wide range of both public and private colleges and institutions and lead to awards validated by the Irish government’s awards agency – Further Education and Training Awards Council (FETAC) , as well as awards validated by a range of Irish, UK and other international awarding bodies. PLC courses take place in schools, colleges and community education centres around the country. The courses are full-time and last for one or two years. Post Leaving Certificate courses adopt an integrated approach, focusing on technical knowledge, core skills and work experience. They are designed as a step towards skilled employment and, as such, are closely linked to industry and its needs. The qualification you receive at the end of your training will depend on the type of course you have chosen.


Post Leaving Certificate Programme

The Post-Leaving Certificate programme is full time and was introduced in 1985 to provide appropriate vocational training for young people to bridge the gap between school and work.

The Programme has since developed to assist young people who have completed senior cycle education, and require further vocational education and training to enhance their prospects of employment or progression to other studies, and in addition to assisting adults returning to education who may not have completed the senior cycle but are deemed by the provider to have the necessary competencies to undertake the Programme.

The Programme assists people to:

1. enhance their prospects of securing lasting, full-time employment, or

2. progress to other studies.

The courses cover a very extensive range of options e.g.

  • Business and Secretarial Skills,
  • Computer Studies,
  • Computer Animation,
  • Construction,
  • Art Craft and Design,
  • Multi-Media Production,
  • Theatre and Stage Production,
  • Performing Arts,
  • Child-care and Community Care,
  • Sport and Leisure,
  • Tourism and Hotel and Catering,
  • Sport and Leisure,
  • Equestrian Studies,
  • Horticulture,
  • Applied Languages and Information Technology,

Certification at Level 5 and Level 6 is available as set out by the National Qualifications Framework and is available through awarding bodies such as the Further Education and Training Awards Council (FETAC)

In addition, a number of Irish semi-state agencies are involved in providing industry specific training. The two main such agencies are : FÃS and Failte Ireland. FÃS – the Training and Employment Authority – runs a wide range of training schemes and is responsible for apprenticeship training in Ireland. Failte Ireland – the national toursim agency – provides courses in tourism and catering.

Useful links: